Renewal and Recertification

Recertification Requirements
Policies and Procedures

The purpose of professional certification is to ensure a high-level of competence in the health education workforce. Maintenance of this competence is supported by continued training in the knowledge and methods of the field (click here to view the continuing education policies). After initial certification, each CHES must earn a total of 75 continuing education contact hours (CECH) every five years to be recertified. At least 45 of these CECH must come from offerings by NCHEC preapproved Designated Providers (Category I); the remaining 30 CECH may come from other providers (Category II). CHES may choose to earn all 75 CECH in Category I. Click here to see a list of upcoming Category I CECH programs. CHES who are unable to meet the recertification requirement may request 'extension' status.

CHES who live outside the continental United States may earn all 75 CECH through Category II activities.

Recertification by Examination:
To recertify by examination a CHES must:

  • meet the current eligibility criteria to take the examination
  • apply and make payment by the stated deadline for the examination using the official CHES examination application form available through NCHEC or online click here
  • pass the CHES examination (the CHES examination is given in April and October)

Failure to pass the examination will result in expiration of CHES certification as of the end of the current five-year certification period.



© 2002 The National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc.